Winter storm watch issued for parts of southern Ontario, GTA

Click to play video 'More extreme weather on the way for southern Ontario' More extreme weather on the way for southern Ontario
WATCH ABOVE: More extreme weather is on the way in southern Ontario to end the month of February. This will add to a month that has already seen record-highs and record-lows. Christina Stevens reports.

Environment Canada has issued a winter storm watch for parts of southern Ontario including the Greater Toronto Area as a “major winter storm” heads into the region on Wednesday.

The weather office says a low pressure area emerging from Texas will track northeastward just south of Lakes Erie and Ontario Wednesday night and Thursday.

Latest indications suggest the system will bring with it snow, mixed with ice pellets, and move into the region Wednesday morning.

There is a chance that the snow and ice pellets could change over to freezing rain or even some rain on Wednesday night.

READ MORE: ‘Major storm system’ expected to hit southern Ontario later this week

The mixed precipitation is then expected to change back to all snow by Thursday morning as colder air begins to work its way in from the north.

Story continues below advertisement

Some areas, particularly in the northern regions, could receive between 15 to 20 centimetres of snow.

Authorities are reminding the public travel conditions could be treacherous at times especially on roads and highways.

The weather service says brisk east to northeast winds may also result in occasional blowing and drifting snow in exposed areas.

Environment Canada is warning people to avoid non-essential travel if possible, especially in the affected regions where the storm will hit the hardest.

The areas currently under the advisory include:

  • Newmarket – Georgina – Northern York Region
  • Caledon
  • Innisfil – New Tecumseth – Angus
  • Orangeville – Grand Valley – Southern Dufferin County
  • Shelburne – Mansfield – Northern Dufferin County
  • Guelph – Erin – Southern Wellington County
  • Kitchener – Cambridge – Region of Waterloo
  • Wingham – Blyth – Northern Huron County
  • Bruce Peninsula – Sauble Beach – Tobermory
  • Hanover – Dundalk – Southern Grey County
  • Owen Sound – Blue Mountains – Northern Grey County
  • Saugeen Shores – Kincardine – Southern Bruce County
  • Mount Forest – Arthur – Northern Wellington County
  • Barrie – Collingwood – Hillsdale
  • Midland – Coldwater – Orr Lake
  • Orillia – Lagoon City – Washago
  • Bracebridge – Gravenhurst
  • Huntsville – Baysville
  • Port Carling – Port Severn
  • Town of Parry Sound – Rosseau – Killbear Park