Date set to select new Wildrose leader

CALGARY – On June 6, Wildrose Party members from across the province will vote for their next leader.

“Our party is strong, united and ready to give Albertans a real, principled, grassroots and fiscally conservative option at the ballot box,” Wildrose Party President Jeff Callaway said.

Wildrose interim leader Heather Forsyth said there is an incredible energy among party members.

“I’ve been enormously moved by the response from Albertans ready to engage in our leadership process and move our party forward,” she said.

Breaking news from Canada and around the world sent to your email, as it happens.

All confirmed leadership contestants will be invited to speak at both member assemblies being held in February.

The announcement comes as six more nominations for Wildrose candidates were released.

  • Ali Waissi: Calgary – East
    • Chris Kemp-Jackson: Calgary – Glenmore
    • Kathy Macdonald: Calgary – Mackay – Nose Hill
    • Jae Shim: Calgary – Hawkwood
    • Jaye Walter: Spruce Grove – St. Albert
    • Scott Wagner: Banff – Cochrane

An additional six nominations opened in the following constituencies:

Story continues below advertisement
  • Athabasca – Sturgeon – Redwater
    • Bonnyville – Cold Lake
    • Chestermere – Rocky View
    • Edmonton – Rutherford
    • Olds – Didsbury – Three Hills
    • Strathmore – Brooks

Albertans interested in running for the party leadership can contact  Forms for pickup will be available until noon on January 26, with the final cut-off date for entry on May 6.

Party members will be able to register their vote through a secure mail-in ballot. In-person voting will be held at soon-to-be-determined  locations. Ballot counting will take place at the Coast Plaza Hotel in Calgary.

Albertans interested in buying or renewing their membership will need to be registered 14 days before the June 6 vote.

Sponsored content