Southwestern Manitoba warned of possible funnel clouds

Funnel clouds could develop in southwestern Manitoba today, Environment Canada warns.
Funnel clouds could develop in southwestern Manitoba today, Environment Canada warns. File Photo


WINNIPEG — Conditions will be favourable for the development of funnel clouds in southwestern Manitoba today, Environment Canada warns.

“A weak low pressure system drifting over western Manitoba will provide favourable conditions for the development of funnel clouds this afternoon,” the weather agency said in a weather advisory just after 10:30 a.m.

Brandon, Carberry, Treherne, Dauphin, Roblin, Winnipegosis, Killarney, Pilot Mound, Manitou, Melita, Boissevain, Turtle Mountain Provincial Park, Minnedosa, Neepawa, Russell, Riding Mountain National Park, Ste. Rose du Lac, McCreary, Alonsa, Gladstone, Virden and Souris are among the communities covered by the advisory.

Environment Canada received several reports of funnel clouds in Saskatchewan Thursday as the system moved through that province, the advisory said.

RELATED: SkyTracker Weather

Story continues below advertisement

Such funnel clouds, caused by weak rotation under rapidly growing clouds or weak thunderstorms, are usually not a danger near the ground, Environment Canada said, but the rotation could intensify and become a weak landspout tornado.

The weather agency will issues watches and/or warnings if conditions that produce landspout tornadoes develop.

For the latest warnings, visit the Environment Canada Manitoba weather alerts web page.

The full list of communities where the advisory is in effect:

  • Brandon
  • The rural municipality of Albert, including Tilston and Broomhill
  • RM of Cameron, including Hartney
  • RM of Whitewater, including Minto, Elgin and Fairfax
  • RM of Edward including Pierson and Lyleton
  • RM of Arthur, including Melita and Coulter,
  • RM of Brenda, including Waskada, Medora and Goodlands
  • RM of Winchester, including Deloraine
  • RM of Morton, including Boissevain and Turtle Mountain Provincial Park
  • RM of Lawrence, including Rorketon and Toutes Aides
  • RM of Alonsa, including Cayer and Crane River
  • RM of Ste. Rose, including Ste. Rose du Lac and Laurier
  • RM of Alonsa, including Eddystone and Ebb and Flow Reserve
  • RM of McCreary, including McCreary and Norgate
  • RM of Alonsa, including Amaranth and Sandy Bay Reserve
  • RM of Glenella, including Glenella
  • RM of Lansdowne, including Arden and Tenby
  • RM of Westbourne, including Gladstone and Plumas
  • RM of Lakeview, including Langruth and Lakeland
  • RM of Wallace, including Virden and Elkhorn
  • RM of Woodworth, including Kenton and Sioux Valley Reserve
  • RM of Daly, including Rivers and Wheatland
  • RM of Whitehead, including Alexander and Beresford
  • RM of Sifton, including Oak Lake and Deleau
  • RM of Pipestone, including Pipestone and Oak Lake Reserve
  • RM of Glenwood, including Souris
  • RM of Elton, including Forrest
  • RM of Cornwallis west of Shilo, including Chater
  • RM of Oakland, including Wawanesa and Carroll
  • RM of North Cypress, including Carberry and Melbourne
  • RM of South Cypress, including Glenboro and Treesbank
  • RM of North Norfolk, including MacGregor, Sydney and Austin
  • RM of South Norfolk, including Treherne and Notre Dame
  • RM of Victoria, including Holland and Cypress River
  • RM of Riverside, including Ninette, Margaret and Dunrea
  • Municipality of Killarney-Turtle Mountain
  • RM of Strathcona, including Belmont
  • RM of Argyle, including Baldur, Glenora and Greenway
  • RM of Roblin, including Cartwright and Mather
  • RM of Louise, including Pilot Mound and Crystal City
  • RM of Lorne, including Somerset Swan Lake and Mariapolis
  • RM of Pembina, including Manitou, La Rivière and Snowflake
  • RM of Shell River, including Roblin, Markaroff and Boggy Creek
  • RM of Hillsburg, including Shortdale, Bield and Merridale
  • RM of Shellmouth-Boulton, including Asessippi Provincial Park
  • RM of Dauphin, including Sifton and Valley River
  • RM of Ethelbert, including Ethelbert and Garland
  • RM of Gilbert Plains, including Gilbert Plains and Ashville
  • RM of Mossey River, including Winnipegosis and Fork River
  • RM of Grandview, including Valley River Reserve
  • RM of Ochre River, including Ochre River and Mackinak
  • RM of Russell, including Binscarth and Gambler Reserve
  • RM of Silver Creek, including Angusville and Silverton
  • RM of Rossburn, including Waywayseecappo Reserve
  • Riding Mountain National Park
  • RM of Park, including Onanole
  • RM of Ellice, including St-Lazare
  • RM of Birtle, including Foxwarren and Solsgirth
  • RM of Archie, including McAuley, Manson and Willen
  • RM of Miniota, including Miniota and Bird Tail Creek Reserve
  • Municipality of Shoal Lake, including Shoal Lake and Oakburn
  • RM of Strathclair, including Strathclair and Elphinstone
  • RM of Hamiota, including McConnell and Lavinia
  • RM of Blanshard, including Oak River and Cardale
  • RM of Harrison, including Sandy Lake and Newdale
  • RM of Saskatchewan, including Rapid City and Basswood
  • RM of Clanwilliam, including Erickson
  • RM of Minto, including Minnedosa and Clanwilliam
  • RM of Odanah south of Minnedosa, including Moore Park
  • RM of Langford, including Neepawa and Hallboro
  • RM of Rosedale, including Eden and Kelwood