Canada introduces new sanctions on Russia over annexation of Ukraine regions

Canadian Foreign Affairs Minister Mélanie Joly announced new sanctions on Russian officials and elites Friday, after President Vladimir Putin formally annexed four regions of Ukraine. Forty-three Russian oligarchs, financial elites and their family members, and 35 Russia-backed senior officials in the regions of Donetsk, Luhansk, Kherson and Zaporizhzhia are now subject to Canadian sanctions.