Ontario Liberals announce candidates for Aug. 1 byelections

File Photo of Queen's Park. File / Global News

TORONTO – The Ontario Liberal Party has officially released its list of candidates for the upcoming Ontario byelections to take place on August 1st.

The roster of nominations were made available through a press release.

Ken Coran, former President of the Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation, will run in London-West.

Peter Milczyn, who has been a Toronto city councillor for 13 years, will run in Etobicoke-Lakeshore.

Mitzie Hunter, former CEO of the Greater Toronto CivicAction Alliance, is running in Scarborough-Guildwood. The other two will be John Fraser in Ottawa-South and Jeewen Gill in Windsor-Tecumseh.

“These candidates have reinvigorated our ranks with new ideas and perspectives, drawing on a wealth of experience, a dedication to public service and a spirit of optimism,” said Campaign Co-Chair Tim Murphy in a media release.

Story continues below advertisement

“These experienced candidates help bolster Kathleen Wynne’s very strong liberal team. Each of them understands the priorities and concerns of their communities and they will bring real results,” Murphy said. “We are going to deliver positive change to the residents of Etobicoke, London, Ottawa, Scarborough and Windsor.”

Sponsored content