Canada election: Edmonton-Wetaskiwin

The federal riding of Edmonton-Wetaskiwin in Alberta.
The federal riding of Edmonton-Wetaskiwin in Alberta. Elections Canada

Conservative MP Mike Lake is seeking re-election in Edmonton-Wetaskiwin, which was created for the 2015 federal election to accommodate Edmonton’s growing population.


Liberals: Richard Wong
Conservatives: Mike Lake
NDP: Noah Garver
Green: Emily Drzymala
PPC: Neil Doell


This riding combines Edmonton’s southernmost neighbourhoods and the surrounding communities of Beaumont, Leduc, Devon and Calmar, along with a large rural area that includes Wetaskiwin, the Pigeon Lake area, and Buck Lake.


This riding includes parts of three former ridings, all of which have long voted Conservative. Past MP’s here include Conservatives James Rajotte (Edmonton-Leduc), Blaine Calkins (Red Deer), and Mike Lake. Lake has represented the area since 2006.

As of the 2016 Census, the area had a fairly young population, with a large number of children under the age of 10 and the highest number of adults in their mid-20s to 40s.

Story continues below advertisement

According to Statistics Canada, residents were employed in a wide variety of fields including construction, education, law and social services, community and government services, business, sales and retail, and the trades.

Global News Redesign Global News Redesign
A fresh new look for Global News is here, tell us what you think
Take a Survey

Sponsored Stories