2019 Canada election results: Nepean

Global News has declared incumbent Chandra Arya of the Liberal Party the winner in the riding of Nepean.


Liberals: Chandra Arya (Incumbent)
Conservatives: Brian St. Louis
NDP: Zaff Ansari
Green: Jean-Luc Cooke
PPC: Azim Hooda

The riding spans most of the former city of Nepean including Barrhaven and Bells Corners. The western border follows Eagleson Road with the south end at Brophy Drive and Bankfield Road. The eastern border follows the Rideau River and the northern end follows the CN rail and Highway 417.

The riding was recreated just previous to the election in 2015 from the former Nepean-Carleton riding. It had previously existed between 1988 -1997 but was dissolved and split into Nepean-Carleton and Ottawa West-Nepean.

Previously represented by Pierre Poilievre, after the the restructure the Nepean half of the former riding switched from blue to red and Poilievre was elected in the newly-created Carleton riding.

Story continues below advertisement

The riding is currently held by the Liberals but has been mostly conservative in the past except for the short stint in the late 80s, early 90s when it was the original Nepean riding.

Sponsored content