Quinte West election results 2018

Jim Harrison is stressing the importance of teamwork with neighbouring communities as he seeks re-election as mayor of the City of Quinte West.

Harrison is a longtime member of city council, serving as a councillor from 1997 to 2014 before winning the mayor’s seat in 2014. Among his goals are improving infrastructure and the continued revitalization of the downtown cores of Trenton and Frankford.

His opponent is Coun. Duncan Armstrong, a retired high school teacher. He was elected to council in 2014 and his mayoral platform includes pursuing more small business and industry, maintaining and enhancing the relationship with 8 CFB Wing Trenton and improving infrastructure.

Candidates (as per the City of Quinte West)


Duncan Armstrong (current councillor)

Story continues below advertisement

Jim Harrison (incumbent)


Ward 1 – Trenton

Paul Bordonaro

Andre deVries

Sally Freeman

Stuart Gilboord

Mark Kennedy

Michael Kotsovos (incumbent)

Fred Kuypers (incumbent)

David Hugh O’Neil

Tyler Rickey

Leslie Roseblade

Ward 2 – Sidney

Terry R. F. Cassidy

Allan DeWitt (incumbent)

Fred Keating

Ernst Kuglin

Don Kuntze (incumbent)

Paul Kyte

Garry Quinn (incumbent)

Karen Sharpe (incumbent)

Story continues below advertisement

Ward 3 – Murray

Jim Alyea (incumbent)

David McCue (incumbent)

Ward 4 – Frankford

Gregg Covell

Rob Maclntosh

Lynda Reid

The city

The City of Quinte West encompasses several communities, the largest being Trenton, home of 8 Wing, a Canadian Forces Base, which is the area’s largest employer. Trenton is also home to a number of major companies including Nestle Canada, Domtech, Norampac, Globamed Inc. Trenton, located on west end of the Bay of Quinte on Lake Ontario, also boasts a strong tourism industry as it is the southern entry to the Trent Severn Waterway.

Population (2016)


Median total income of couple economic families with children (2015)/Ont. median


Crime Severity Index (2016) – municipal/Ont.


Violent Crime Severity Index (2017) – municipal/Ont.


Story continues below advertisement

Political representation


Neil Ellis (Liberal) — Bay of Quinte


Todd Smith (Progressive Conservative) — Bay of Quinte

Sponsored content