Quebec election: Richelieu results

The electoral division of Richelieu was created in 1792.

It is located at the mouth of the river of the same name in Montérégie and comprises, in particular, the City of Sorel-Tracy.

It also includes the municipalities of Massueville, Saint-Aimé, Sainte-Anne-de-Sorel, Saint-Bernard-de-Michaudville, Saint-David, Saint-Gérard-Majella, Saint-Joseph-de-Sorel, Saint-Jude, Saint-Louis, Saint-Marcel-de-Richelieu, Saint-Ours, Saint-Robert, Saint-Roch-de-Richelieu, Sainte-Victoire-de-Sorel, Sorel-Tracy and Yamaska.

The four candidates from parties serving in the National Assembly at dissolution:

Coalition Avenir Québec: Jean-Bernard Emond
Parti Québécois: Sylvain Rochon
Quebec Liberal Party: Sophie Chevalier
Québec Solidaire: Sophie Pagé Sabourin

Elaine Zakaib, the incumbent in this riding is not running again. She won the riding for the Parti Québécois in both the 2012 and 2014 elections.


Built at the river’s mouth in 1642, its name was inspired by Fort Richelieu.

Story continues below advertisement

It was named in honour of Armand-Jean du Plessis, Cardinal of Richelieu and Chief Minister for Louis XIII from 1624 until his death.