October 1, 2018 2:30 am
Updated: October 1, 2018 1:58 pm

Quebec election: Champlain results


Champlain is located in the southeastern area of the Mauricie region, along the Saint Lawrence River.

The riding is comprised of several municipalities, including Hérouxville, Saint-Stanislas and Lac-aux-Sables. It also includes part of the City of Trois-Rivières.

The four candidates from parties serving in the National Assembly at dissolution:

Coalition Avenir Québec: Sonia Lebel
Parti Québécois: Gaëtan Leclerc
Quebec Liberal Party: Pierre Michel Auger
Québec Solidaire: Steven Roy Cullen

Pierre Michel Auger, the incumbent, was first elected in 2007 under the Action Démocratique du Québec banner before crossing the floor to the Liberals.

He lost his seat was re-elected as a Quebec Liberal in 2014.


Champlain is one of the oldest ridings in the province. It was established in 1829.

Since the 1970s, the electoral division has mostly bounced back and forth from the Parti Québécois to the Quebec Liberals.

© 2018 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.