January 10, 2017 10:44 am
Updated: January 10, 2017 3:55 pm

Freeland takes on Foreign Affairs; Dion, McCallum out in Trudeau cabinet shuffle

WATCH ABOVE: Chrystia Freeland becomes Canada's new Minister of Foreign Affairs


Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has shaken things up with a cabinet shuffle.

The changes come less than two weeks ahead of U.S. President-elect Donald Trump‘s inauguration — bringing with it a major shift in the political landscape.

Story continues below

READ MORE: Cabinet shuffle: Who are the new faces in the federal cabinet?

Chrystia Freeland has been made minister of Foreign Affairs, following her high-profile stint as minister of Trade.

Freeland’s move to Foreign Affairs leaves Stephane Dion without a spot in the cabinet. There is speculation he will be offered a diplomatic post abroad.

“Stephane Dion has served his country in many different roles over the last 21 years with integrity and a fierce love of Canada,” Trudeau said in a statement.

“I know I will be able to continue to count on his wisdom and his tireless service, and look forward to the next chapter of Mr. Dion’s contributions to our country.”

READ MORE: Stephane Dion booted from caucus, his future uncertain

Ahmed Hussen will take the post of Immigration minister; John McCallum will become the Canadian ambassador to China.

“The Canada-China relationship will be well served by such a strong presence from our government,” Trudeau’s statement read.

Maryam Monsef has been moved to the Status of Women file; Monsef faced harsh criticism in her role as Democratic Institutions minister for the bungling of a report on electoral reform.

Former Status of Women minister Patricia Hajdu has been named the minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Labour, taking over the post of MaryAnn Mihychuk.

Francois-Philippe Champagne has been named the new minister of Trade, and Karina Gould takes over as Democratic Institutions minister.

© 2017 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.