Manitoba Election 2016: Transcona riding

Summary: With longtime NDP MLA (and current Speaker of the House) Daryl Reid not seeking re-election, voters in Transcona will elect a rookie MLA on April 19.

Boundaries: The furthest east of Winnipeg’s 31 riding, this riding includes all of the Transcona area east of Plessis Road when it is south of Rosseau Avenue West. North of Rosseau, the western boundary is Hoka Street and the Transcona Bioreserve.

Last Election: The NDP’s Reid won his sixth term, defeating NDP candidate Craig Stapon by over 1800 votes, 58-34 per cent.

History: A working-class riding, Transcona has elected NDP candidates in 11 of 12 elections since it was created prior to the 1969 election, with Liberal candidate Richard Kozak the only one to break the streak in 1988. Daryl Reid defeated Kozak in the 1990 election, and has held it since.


NDP: Barb Burkowski, community organizer and chair of Pride Winnipeg

Story continues below advertisement

Progressive Conservative: Blair Yakimoski, former owner of Plessis IGA

Liberal: Chad Panting, lawyer

Manitoba Party: Ajit Kumar

Communists: Darrell Rankin, Leader of the Communist Party of Manitoba since 1996