Manitoba Election 2016: Radisson riding

Summary: After three terms, MLA Bidhu Jha is stepping down, making this traditional NDP riding one to watch on April 19.

Boundaries: A large riding on Winnipeg’s east, Radisson is centred around CN Symington Yards. It includes the areas of St. Boniface between the Yards, Highway 1 and the Seine River Greenway, along with the neighbourhood between Elmwood and Transcona.

Last Election: Jha defeated Desmond Penner by over 1400 votes, 55-39 per cent.

History: Created prior to the 1958 election, the NDP has won this riding every time except for 1977 (to the Progressive Conservatives) and 1988 (to the Liberals). Its first MLA was Russell Paulley, the first leader of the Manitoba NDP.


NDP: Preet Singh, IT professional

Story continues below advertisement

Progressive Conservative: James Teitsma, former director of religious lobby group Association for Reformed Political Action

Liberal: Scott Newman, lawyer