Manitoba Election 2016: St. James riding

Summary: NDP MLA Deanne Crothers will attempt to get re-elected in this riding.

Boundaries: The St. James riding lies north of the Tuxedo riding, west of Minto, south of Tyndall Park and east of Assiniboia. The Assiniboine River runs along the southern border of the riding. Ness, Notre Dame and Dublin Avenues run along the northern border. Moray Street and Britain Boulevard take up the western border and Valour Road runs along the eastern edge.

Last Election: Current incumbent Deanne Crothers was elected for the NDP with 49 per cent of the votes. She was closely followed by the Progressive Conservatives 2011 candidate, Scott Gillingham, with 38 per cent.

History: The NDP party have had an MLA elected in this riding four out of the last five elections. The last time the NDP didn’t have it, in 1988, it went to the Liberals.


NDP: Deanne Crothers, incumbent NDP MLA

Story continues below advertisement

Progressive Conservative: Scott Johnston, president of brokerage firm

Liberal: Michelle Finley

Green: Jeff Buhse, climate policy analyst

Manitoba Party: Bradley Gross