Manitoba Election 2016: Fort Whyte riding

Summary: Progressive Conservative leader Brian Pallister aims to win Fort Whyte en route to becoming Manitoba’s 22nd Premier on April 19.

Boundaries: A predominately upper-class, suburban riding, Fort Whyte is bordered by FortWhyte Alive to the west, the rail line to the north, Bison Drive to the south, and Waverley Street to the east.

Last Election: In a 2012 byelection, Pallister defeated Liberal candidate Bob Axworthy by over 1500 votes, 55-32 per cent.

History: The riding was created prior to the 1999 election, and the Progressive Conservatives have always held it. Prior to Pallister, the MLA for Fort Whyte was Hugh McFayden, who preceded Pallister as PC leader.


NDP: George Wong, independent management consultant

Progressive Conservative: Brian Pallister, Progressive Conservative party leader

Story continues below advertisement

Liberal: Peter Bastians

Green: Carli Runions

Manitoba Party: Daryl Newis