Manitoba Election 2016: Dauphin riding

Summary: A rural riding in southwestern Manitoba. Dauphin encompasses many of the province’s great parks and lakes. The riding does not have an incumbent, as longtime NDP MLA Stan Struthers, left his cabinet position in November 2014.

Boundaries: Dauphin is located in the southwestern region of the province. It is bordered to the south by Riding National Park, to the west by the province of Saskatchewan, to the north by Swan River and to the east by Dauphin Lake and Agassiz. The riding includes the towns of Dauphin and Roblin, as well as Gilbert Plains, Ste. Rose du Lac and Grandview.

Last Election: The NDP’s incumbent Stan Struthers defeated the PCs with 4,483 of the votes, 54 per cent to 41 per cent.

History: Dauphin has elected NDP candidates in 11 of 12 elections since it was created prior to the 1969 election. The riding has been NDP since 1969, when NDP’s Peter Burtniak defeated PC incumbent Stewart McLean. In November 2014, Struthers, who was part of the “rebel five” cabinet ministers, started a revolt against NDP Leader, Greg Seilinger, and resigned from his cabinet post.


NDP: Darcy Scheller, business development manager

Story continues below advertisement

Progressive Conservative: Brad Michaleski, grain and oilseeds producer

Liberal: Garry Gurke

Green: Kate Storey, wildlife habitat specialist and manager

Manitoba Party: Darrell Inkster, contractor

Sponsored content