Manitoba Election 2016: The Pas

Summary: NDP MLA Amanda Lathlin won her seat during the 2015 by-election in The Pas. The seat was vacated when the NDP’s Frank Whitehead resigned for health reasons. Lathlin will attempt to defend the seat she’s held for a year.

Boundaries: Clearwater Provincial Park runs along the western border of The Pas riding. Cross Lake sits in the northeastern corner of the riding while Grass River Provincial Park takes up the northwestern point.

Last Election: The 2015 by-election saw NDP Amanda Lathlin retake the seat for her party with 1,557 votes after Frank Whitehead resigned for health reasons. The previous election in 2011 saw Whitehead take the seat for the NDP with a huge 73 per cent of the votes. The Progressive Conservative party followed up with a 23 per cent and the Liberal candidate took home two per cent of the votes.

History: The Pas has been an NDP riding since the 1970’s and Frank Whitehead’s win in 2011 with 73 per cent and Lathlin’s by-election win continued the decades long streak.


NDP: Amanda Lathlin, incumbent MLA

Story continues below advertisement

Progressive Conservative: Doug Lauvstad, executive director of Northern Manitoba Sector Council

Liberal: Tyler Duncan

Green: Patrick Wood, family enhancement program coordinator at CFS