TORONTO – Facebook users should be on the lookout for a recent scam that leaves affected computers at risk of hackers.
A link notifying users that Facebook has a new “dislike” button appears on the affected persons wall and if pressed will run code on the computer, leaving it susceptible to hackers.
“We’re working hard to block and remove malicious applications that claim to provide dislike functionality and inadvertently update people’s statuses. It’s important to keep in mind that there is no official dislike button,” a Facebook spokesperson told Global News.
By clicking on the fake link, the virus is spread to your friends and may allow others to access your profile.
For information on how to protect your Facebook profile and your computer, Facebook recommends consulting the Facebook security page to stay up to date with threats against your privacy.
“Don’t click on strange links, even if they are from friends, and notify the person and report the link if you see something suspicious,” said a Facebook spokesperson.