November 4, 2015 1:58 pm
Updated: November 5, 2015 12:13 am

Three B.C. MPs to serve in federal cabinet

WATCH: Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has named three BC MPs to his cabinet. Ted Chernecki and Keith Baldrey report.


VICTORIA – British Columbia Premier Christy Clark is extending her congratulations to Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and his 30 cabinet ministers who were sworn in this morning in Ottawa.

In a release, Clark says she is pleased at B.C.’s strong representation on the front benches of the federal Liberal government, with three newly-elected Metro Vancouver MP’s named to portfolios.

Story continues below

Vancouver-Granville MP Jody Wilson-Raybould is the Justice Minister, Vancouver-South MP Harjit Singh serves as Defence Minister and Delta’s Carla Qualtrough is Minister of Sport.

READ MORE: A look at 5 high-profile members of Justin Trudeau’s new cabinet

Clark says she knows all three will be strong, passionate advocates for B.C.

She says she is confident they will fight for provincial priorities such as a renewed Softwood Lumber Agreement, development of liquefied natural gas and the full inclusion of First Nations in the economy.

The premier says she looks forward to working with Trudeau and his ministers to build a more prosperous country.

READ MORE: New justice minister brings unique perspective to First Nations issues

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.

Global News