Federal Election 2015: Dartmouth—Cole Harbour riding results

Summary: A riding to watch, as the incumbent NDP MP Robert Chisholm tries to hold on to his seat for a second term, after winning by less than 500 votes over the Liberal incumbent in 2011. He’ll face a new opponent this year, a two-term city councillor.

Boundaries: This Halifax-area riding includes the communities of Dartmouth and Cole Harbour. A boundary adjustment in this election adds CFB Shearwater to the riding.

Last Election: Former provincial NDP leader Robert Chisholm marked his return to politics in 2011 with a narrow victory here over the Liberal incumbent, Mike Savage. Savage went on to become mayor of Halifax.

History: Since 1988, every MP elected here has won a second term. The riding has changed hands between the Liberals and New Democrats since that time. The last conservative victory here was a PC win in 1984.


Conservative: Jason Cole, Lead Pastor at City Heights Church

NDP: Robert Chisholm, MP since 2011

Story continues below advertisement

Liberal: Darren Fisher, Halifax city councillor

Green: Brynn Nheiley, urban planner and interim leader of the NS Green Party