March 10, 2015 3:14 pm
Updated: March 16, 2015 5:48 pm

How to vote in Metro Vancouver’s transit plebiscite, starting March 16


WATCH:  Don Main with Elections BC explains everything you need to know about voting in the Metro Vancouver transit plebiscite

VANCOUVER – Metro Vancouver’s transit plebiscite is taking place from March 16 to May 29, 2015.

The question will be: “Do you support a new 0.5% Metro Vancouver Congestion Improvement Tax, to be dedicated to the Mayors’ Transportation and Transit Plan?”

Story continues below

The full question can be found here

If passed, the tax would fund light-rail lines in Surrey, a new Pattullo Bridge, an extension of the Millennium Line, and general improvements to B.C.’s roads and transit structures.

How to vote:

If you are a registered voter in Metro Vancouver, you will get your voting package in the mail between March 16 and March 27. If you do not receive one by March 27, you can ask for one by calling 1-800-661-8683 or going online at

For anyone who needs to access services in person, or who has difficulties receiving mail, you can register and ask for a voting package at a Plebiscite Service Office beginning April 13. You can mail your completed package or drop it off at a Plebiscite Service Office.

You will be able to request a voting package until midnight on Friday, May 15 and all votes must be received before 8 p.m. on Friday, May 29.

Sample ballot


Your voting package will have your name and address on it so you can only use that ballot. You can also only vote once.

Who can vote:

To cast a vote in this plebiscite, you must be:

  • a Canadian citizen
  • 18 years of age or older, on or before May 29, 2015
  • a resident of B.C. for at least six months, on or before May 29, 2015
  • registered to vote in B.C.
  • living in Metro Vancouver (see list of voting municipalities below)

Voting municipalities:

  • Bowen Island Municipality
  • City of Burnaby
  • City of Coquitlam
  • City of Langley
  • City of Maple Ridge
  • City of New Westminster
  • City of North Vancouver
  • City of Pitt Meadows
  • City of Port Coquitlam
  • City of Port Moody
  • City of Richmond
  • City of Surrey
  • City of Vancouver
  • City of White Rock
  • Corporation of Delta
  • District of North Vancouver
  • District of West Vancouver
  • Metro Vancouver Electoral Area “A”
  • Township of Langley
  • Tsawwassen First Nation
  • Village of Anmore
  • Village of Belcarra
  • Village of Lions Bay

© 2015 Shaw Media

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.