June 5, 2014 1:45 pm
Updated: June 6, 2014 12:26 am

Saskatchewan premier makes cabinet changes


REGINA – Saskatchewan Premier Brad Wall made a major cabinet shuffle on Thursday, with only eight people keeping the same portfolio.

Wall changed the responsibilities of about half of his ministers.

“Our province’s economy remains strong and as a government, we are working to ensure all Saskatchewan people share in the benefits of a growing economy,” Wall said.  “I believe this new cabinet strikes the right balance and will keep our growth agenda on track.”

Don McMorris is now responsible for Crown Investments Corporation, Saskatchewan liqur and Gaming Authority (SGLA), Saskatchewan Government Insurance, the Public Service Commission and the government’s Lean initiative.

“Many Saskatchewan people have been telling me they would like to see more private liquor retail options in our province,” Wall said.   “I have asked Minister McMorris, as SLGA minister, to look at various options and consider what makes sense for our province.”

Four ministers have changed portfolios:

  • Kevin Doherty becomes Minister of Advanced Education and Minister responsible for SaskTel;
  • Donna Harpauer becomes Minister of Social Services and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Housing Corporation and the Status of Women;
  • Nancy Heppner becomes Minister of Highways and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Gaming Corporation; and
  • Tim McMillan becomes Minister responsible for Rural and Remote Health.

Three MLAs have portfolios for the first time:

  • Jennifer Campeau becomes Minister of Central Services and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Transportation Corporation;
  • Mark Docherty becomes Minister of Parks, Culture and Sport and Minister responsible for the Provincial Capital Commission; and
  • Scott Moe becomes Minister of Environment and Minister responsible for SaskWater and the Water Security Agency.

The following eight ministers have kept the same portfolio:

  • Ken Krawetz remains Deputy Premier and Minister of Finance;
  • Bill Boyd remains Minister of the Economy, Minister responsible for SaskPower and the Global Transportation Hub and adds responsibility for Energy and Resources;
  • Dustin Duncan remains Minister of Health;
  • Don Morgan remains Minster of Education, Minister of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety and Minister responsible for the Workers’ Compensation Board;
  • Jim Reiter remains Minister of Government Relations and Minister responsible for First Nations, Metis and Northern Affairs and adds responsibility for SaskEnergy;
  • Lyle Stewart remains Minister of Agriculture and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation;
  • Christine Tell remains Minister responsible for Corrections and Policing; and
  • Gordon Wyant remains Minister of Justice and Attorney General and adds responsibility for SaskBuilds.

The number of ministers remain at 18 including the premier and the size of the cabinet has not changed since 2007.

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.

Global News