May 27, 2014 3:56 pm
Updated: May 29, 2014 9:21 pm

Ontario election 2014: Welland riding


View link »

On June 12, voters head to the polls in the 2014 Ontario election. Learn more about the candidates and political history of the riding of Welland.


Liberals: Benoit Mercier
Progressive Conservatives: Frank Campion
NDP: Cindy Forster*
Green:  Donna Cridland


Screen shot 2014-05-09 at 4.41.05 AM

Story continues below
A suburban-rural riding in Niagara Municipality, this riding includes Thorold, Welland, Port Colborne and Wainfleet, along with a small bit of southwest St. Catharines.


Cindy Forster won this open seat for the NDP in 2011, defeating the PC candidate by just under 5,500 votes. She replaced Peter Kormos, who had held ridings in the central Niagara area since 1988. Before that, NDP Mel Swart held the riding of Welland from 1975 to 1988.

View link »

By the numbers

The 2011 census showed Welland’s median age (42.4), average household size (2.5), median income ($25,621) and many other demographic stats were in the middle of the pack for rural Ontario ridings.

View link »

Riding in a tweet

Welland has been an NDP area for many years, but if the PCs win the most seats on election night, they could have a chance here.

Poll-level results, 2011: Welland »

Poll-level results, 2011: Welland

© 2014 Shaw Media

Report an error


Want to discuss? Please read our Commenting Policy first.

Global News