June 12, 2014 8:26 pm
Updated: June 12, 2014 9:00 pm

NDP leader Andrea Horwath wins Hamilton Centre seat


NDP leader Andrea Horwath has hung onto her seat in Hamilton Centre.

She easily defeated Liberal challenger Donna Tiqui-Shebib, winning 50 per cent of the vote as of 9:22 PM on election night. Tiqui-Shebib won 26.5 per cent, and the PC’s John Vail won 14.6 per cent. Only 21 of 209 polls had reported results by this time.

Horwath also defeated Tiqui-Shebib in the 2011 election.

Story continues below

Horwath was first elected to provincial office in 2004, marking a 10-year anniversary in May. She became NDP leader in 2009. Before entering provincial politics, she was a Hamilton city councillor and a community organizer at a legal aid clinic.

Horwath came under fire from otherwise friendly leftists for adopting a more populist stance and rejecting a progressive Wynne budget, triggering this provincial election.

Full results from the 2014 Ontario provincial election

More about this riding

Report an error


Global News