May 2, 2014 6:33 am

Manitoban selected first overall in WHL bantam draft

WINNIPEG – For just the fourth time in the modern-day history of the WHL bantam draft, a Manitoban has been selected first overall.

The Brandon Wheat Kings used the top pick to draft 14-year-old Stelio Mattheos of the Winnipeg AAA Bantam Monarchs. The 6-foot-1, 180-pound centreman recorded 50 goals and 53 assists in just 32 games last season.

“I’m a proud Manitoban,” said Mattheos. “Really wanted to go to the Wheat Kings. Just super happy it happened.”

Story continues below

Other Manitobans to have been selected first overall include Chris Nielsen in 1995 (Calgary), Jonathan Toews in 2003 (Tri-City) and Quinton Howden in 2007 (Moose Jaw).

Players who were eligible for this year’s bantam draft were born in 1999 andreside in Manitoba, Alberta, Saskatchewan, British Columbia, Yukon, Northwest Territories, Alaska and the western U.S.A.

A total of 34 Manitobans have been drafted, including six by the Wheat Kings.

Rnd    Overall Pick    Name of Player    Pos    Hometown        WHL Team

1    1st        Stelio Mattheos            C    Winnipeg             Wheat Kings
1    4th        Josh Brook                     D    Roblin                  Moose Jaw
1    19th        Cody Glass                    C    Winnipeg            Portland
2    27th        Max Martin                  D    Winnipeg            Prince George
2    30th        Logan Christensen    C    Morden               Prince Albert
2    36th        Hayden Ostir               C    Winnipeg             Spokane
2    39th        Rilan Rommelaere    G    Boissevain         Medicine Hat
3    52nd        Cody Thompson        D    Killarney           Prince Albert
3    56th        Nicholos Doyle           D    Winnipeg           Swift Current
3    59th        Nick Henry                 RW   Portage             Everett
4    70th        Connor Timlick          D     Winnipeg         Moose Jaw
4    78th        Brett Davis                   C     Oakbank            Swift Current
5    100th        Tanner Mole           LW    Winnipeg         Swift Current
5    101st        Riley Bruce                D       Winnipeg        Regina
5    102nd        Wyatt Bear              RW    Hodgson         Seattle
5    104th        Ian Briscoe               C       Winnipeg         Seattle
5    106th      Connor Gutenberg   C      Brandon           Wheat Kings
5    107th       Connor Dewar          C    Gilbert Plains   Everett
6    112th        Dylan Myskiw           G    Winnipeg         Victoria
6    118th        Dylan Cassie              D    Winnipeg         Medicine Hat
6    120th        James McIsaac        C    Winnipeg         Wheat Kings
6    129th        Bronson Kelly           D    East Selkirk     Calgary
7    136th        Codey Beaulieu        F    Winnipeg          Moose Jaw
8    164th        Leif Mattson           RW    Stonewall        Wheat Kings
9    177th        Tyler Jubenvill        D    Gilbert Plains  Spokane
9    186th        Dane Hirst                  D    Lac du Bonnet Wheat Kings
9    187th        Austin Nault          RW    Winnipeg           Kootenay
9    193rd        Reg Pohl                  RW     Douglas             Seattle
9    197th        Dylan Burton            C      Winnipeg          Portland
9     198th        Sam Huston             D       Brandon            Kootenay Ice
10    206th     Keevan Daniels-Webb  LW    Peguis        Prince Albert
10    208th      Justin Klassen         G     Portage la Prairie  Wheat Kings
10    210th      Noah King                  D     Winnipeg            Swift Current
11    227th       Brian Harris              C      Wawanesa         Edmonton

© Shaw Media, 2014

Report an error